Chiropractic care

The beginning of my journey to health started with my 1st chiropractor visit.

Before going I always used to think that all chiropractors did was make sore backs feel better…oh how wrong I was! The medical definition of chiropractic (thanks to www.medicinenet.com) is: A system of diagnosis and treatment based on the concept that the nervous system coordinates all of the body’s functions, and that disease results from a lack of normal nerve function. Chiropractic employs manipulation and adjustment of body structures, such as the spinal column, so that pressure on nerves coming from the spinal cord due to displacement (subluxation) of a vertebral body may be relieved. Practitioners believe that misalignment and nerve pressure can cause problems not only in the local area, but also at some distance from it.

I now that all sounds a bit like gobbledy gook but basically as we all now from shool biology, our brain controls everything in our body. It does this through our nervous system which runs through our spine. When a vetebrae moves out of place it can block one of these nerves from sending and recieving messages properly causing certain parts of our bodies to not function in the correct way resulting in sickness and disease!

I have always suffered from really bad headaches and thought it was just something I have to put up with… But after only a few treatments I have already started to notice quite a difference in the severity and frequency of my headaches! It’s truly amazes me that we are always being encouraged by our doctor and the government to get medical check-ups or dental check ups but never have I been encourgaed to get my spine checked, yet it is truly a very important part of my body’s overall function and health.

I can definitely say that I will always make chiropractic care my main form of healthcare from now on and would like to encourage you to visit your local chirporactor to get your spine checked and talk to them about your overall health and lifestyle!

(if anyone would like information of a good chiropractor in your area just let me know and I will send you some details)

2 thoughts on “Chiropractic care

Leave a Reply

